My Teatox diaries

So, as I previously pointed out on Instagram and in my latest post of the benefits of tea, I’ve started a teatox – yup, you heard right, a tea detox.

What’s not to love about teatox? It’s tea (great great great!), it boasts amazing benefits just for drinking it on a regular basis (keep going, I’m loving it) AND it is the best compound word I’ve seen in a while. My wordplay-loving brain couldn’t possibly have stood a chance!

Now, about “detoxing”: truth be told, I haven’t quite made up my mind about the concept. Yes, sure, we ingest and inhale toxins daily, and need to get rid of these toxins – but a healthy body, with functioning organs such as kidneys, liver, even lungs, already detoxifies itself constantly. I mean, detoxification and the removal of waste products is literally what the liver and kidneys are for. Is there really anything we can do to influence toxin removal?

Now, obviously, although a healthy body is made to process out toxins by itself, there are a number of things you can do in your daily life to help: keeping your body healthy and able to do its job, for one thing. That means eating healthy and clean, and probably doing a little exercise. The less rubbish you put in your body voluntarily, the less your body will have to work to get rid of it. Eating the right foods would hence have an effect on your body’s overall health… But we knew that already.

Although the concept of “detoxing” is starting to appeal to me less and less – this article did start to convince me of that – I do believe in the health benefits of different foods or drinks. For a start, your body needs a number of vitamins, minerals and enzymes to function properly each day, which you get through what you eat and drink, mainly, so eating the right foods is very important. I also believe that different herbs or plants do have specific effects – which is why they have been linked to and used in medicine for so long.

I’ve already talked about the health benefits of tea on this blog, so you all know I believe in those. Is can’t be surprising, then, that when I saw a tea mix that boasted energy-boosting benefits, antioxidants, improved digestion, and appetite-curbing properties (for the morning tea) and anti-bloating benefits as well as better sleep (for the evening tea), I just had to try it.

Anyway, here’s my impressions on the first week of doing SkinnyMint’s 28-day Teatox:

IMG_3050

The morning tea is delicious – it’s lovely and light and the perfect green breakfast tea. I have been drinking it for a week, and I love it already. I have found that I am more awake in the morning, and I have felt less hungry. I’ll have to keep you posted on whether I think this particular tea is having an effect – and not just my general lifestyle – but in any case, it has convinced me to start drinking green tea in the morning instead of black tea.

IMG_3075

The evening tea, which you only have one every two days, is nice: I was afraid the lemongrass and liquorice would be too strong (they are not my two favourite flavours), but I’ve found they’re actually quite light, and the different flavours blend quite well. This tea really does have an effect on my digestion – however, although one of the ingredients is supposed to calm down cramps, I have been getting slight but noticeable cramps the morning after I drink this tea. Not the nicest side-effect, but logical, in a sense.

Verdict: the two teas taste great, and they really do have an effect. I do feel slimmer when I wake up every morning, and more energised after the morning tea. However, I have been getting some cramps after drinking the night cleanse tea.

Would I recommend it? For the price, I’m not sure. I’m sure you can find lovely green teas to drink in the morning with a similar effect for a fraction of the cost, as well as cheaper night “detox” teas. The main attraction with this brand is the flavour and the cute packaging – but you can very probably get the same or similar results with other teas as well.

3 thoughts on “My Teatox diaries

  1. chloe says:

    The ad kept popping up on my FB feed at one point. Totally agree with what you wrote because it’s so pricey. Please do a follow up post at the end of the detox!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

