Sugar-free breakfast granola

These past few weeks, I’ve often felt like eating cereal and muesli. I’m not sure why this is, because I rarely eat that kinds of foodstuff. Perhaps it’s because my housemates often have cereal in the cupboards and eat it for breakfast or as a snack, or maybe I’ve seen too many ads on television – who knows?

The fact of the matter is, however, that if you eat mainly sugar-free and are paying attention to the amount of added sugar in your food, buying cereal in a supermarket is close to impossible. I’ve taken strolls down the cereal aisle many a time, and few if any of the cereals I’ve seen have less than 15g of sugar per 100g serving, which basically adds up to almost 2 teaspoons of sugar per portion (the boxes recommend 40g servings, but who really respects those, huh?).

I quickly realised that, to satisfy my cereal craving, I’d have to make my own. I hence decided to make my own granola, cutting out the unnecessary sugars found in honey and dried fruit. Inspired by I Quit Sugar’s recipe for Coco-nutty granola, I made my own sugar-free homemade coconut and mixed nut granola, using, well, no sweetener. I decided to eat it in Greek yoghurt, which I eat without sugar anyway and adds a good source of protein to any breakfast or snack.

The result? Delicious – exotic coconut, crunchy oats, chia seeds and nuts, all mixing beautifully with the rich, greek yoghurt. I am totally bowled over by this recipe and will be keeping freshly-made granola in my cupboard from now on!

PS. I’m alright with the no-sugar version, especially with the sweet cinnamon and coconut, but you can add a sweetener, to taste, if you wish: rice malt syrup would be my choice, but honey would work just as well.

5 servings

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups of rolled oats

1 cup of roughly chopped nuts (I used brazil nuts, hazelnuts and almonds)

1 cup of desiccated coconut

3 tablespoons of coconut oil, melted

1 tablespoon of chia seeds

1 tsp of cinnamon

1. Preheat oven to 130°.

2. Combine all ingredients in a bowl.

3. Cover a baking tray with baking parchment. Put the granola mix on the baking sheet and spread the mixture out evenly.

4. Cook for 20 minutes in the oven, turning mixture halfway through cooking time so it cooks evenly.

Here's my mix halfway through cooking - should be a bit darker and more golden when finished.

Here’s my mix halfway through cooking – should be a bit darker and more golden when finished.

5. Take out of the oven and let cool. This granola can be eaten as soon as it has cooled or be kept for up to two weeks in the cupboard.

6. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Sugar-free breakfast granola

Leave a Reply

