Bordeaux-bound blogger

As I write this, I am sitting in an alcove in a London bar called The Big Chill House. It’s 6:30 PM and the place is getting more and more packed, the air dense and the music and conversations LOUD.  You’d think I’d have trouble concentrating in a place like this, but I am surprisingly finding it very easy to slip into my own little bubble to type this. Writing this for you guys almost feels like having an intimate conversation with friends, which I’ve got to say suits this place to a T.

I’m meeting a friend for drinks and dinner at 7 (and unlike me I got here way too early) before I fly off to Bordeaux very early in the morning. I absolutely cannot wait to get back to the homeland tomorrow morning – granted, I won’t be making a stop in my home city of Paris, but I will be seeing family (both the kind you choose and the one you don’t 😉 ).

The first thing I’ll do when I get there? Buy a fresh croissant. I am definitely skipping the airplane breakfast and saving myself for a bite of that sweet, buttery goodness. Because, let’s be honest, no-one makes these like the French. I’ve tried them in the U.S., the U.K., Indonesia…but it doesn’t taste the same. Must be something in the air.

I’m especially looking forward to spending time with my paternal grandmother: she’s from Réunion Island, a French island in the Indian Ocean, off Madagascar, so her cooking takes a lot of inspiration from her youth there. Her no-fuss, southern French cooking is definitely going to be one of the high points of my trip: well, that and filling up on peace and quiet, a bit of sun, good books and some long-forgotten family recipes.

f2402_reunion

Anyway, I can’t wait to rediscover Bordeaux and share it all with you guys; I keep hearing the most amazing things about this place but haven’t been there for years so it’ll be a real rediscovery!

Any place you fellow world travellers would like me to check out for you? Comment at the bottom of the post!

One thought on “Bordeaux-bound blogger

Leave a Reply

