Sugar-free baked beans

If you live in England, you must know that a full English breakfast is not complete without beans – baked beans, that is. If you’re going to brunch in England, and brunch right, you’ve got to have some of these with your eggs!

Now, the only brand you should be buying, my British friends tell me, is Heinz: nothing beats a tin of Heinz baked beans. The contents of which pack a whopping 9.8g of sugar per serving (1/2 tin or 200g). Even the reduced sugar and salt version has 6.7g of sugar per portion (1/2 tin or 200g)!

I never fully understood the concept of baked beans; we don’t eat a whole lot of beans in France. The first time I saw someone eating beans on toast (in my mind, the nutritional equivalent of carbs on carbs with sugar sauce), I did a double-take! However, I must admit, they have kind of grown on me – but I would rather eat them homemade to actually know what I’m eating.

I have really scoured the internet to find a proper baked beans recipe that I would find truly satisfying, and this one really did it for me (although I did tweak t a little). I love the strong tomato sauce, balanced with the sweetness of the rice malt syrup (all glucose sweetener) and the acidity of the apple cider vinegar. Slow-cooking really thickens the sauce and makes the beans perfectly tender. Make a big portion and keep in the fridge to enjoy, heated, at breakfast, dinner or as a snack. You can even freeze it in portions and keep for up to three months!

Serves 8

Ingredients:

2-3 tins cannellini beans

1 red onion, diced

1 onion, diced

2 garlic cloves, finely chopped

1 tin chopped tomatoes

2 tbsp rice malt syrup

3 tbsp apple cider vinegar

Coconut oil

Salt

Pepper

1. Heat the coconut oil in a large saucepan over a medium heat, add the diced onions and cook for 6-8 minutes.

IMG_3708

2. Stir in the chopped garlic, tomatoes, rice malt syrup, apple cider vinegar and 400ml water, then tip in the beans. If using dried beans, make sure you’ve soaked them overnight and pre-cooked them for an hour in simmering water.

IMG_3711

3. Reduce the heat to low and cook for 1½-2 hours, stirring occasionally, until you have a thick sauce and tender beans.

IMG_3715

4. Serve the beans on toasted bread, with grated cheese, if you like, or as part of a complete full English breakfast.

5. Enjoy!

IMG_3719

Original recipe found here

2 thoughts on “Sugar-free baked beans

  1. thedivinepeach says:

    I love home-made baked beans, everyone thinks I’m mad to go to so much trouble just for beans but they’re so much tastier not to mention healthier than the tinned variety. My favourite recipe is ‘Smoky Baked Beans’ in The Art of Eating Well by Hemsley and Hemsley which is to die for!

    Like

Leave a Reply

