Baked sweet potato with feta chipotle cream and chorizo

One of my favourite moments every month is receiving my Olive magazine, a foodie magazine featuring delicious recipes as well as restaurant and travel features. I particularly love the “Healthy choices” and “Weeknight simple” recipe categories, the latter one from which I took this beautiful recipes.

Baked sweet potatoes are always a delicious choice, but these toppings absolutely blew my mind: the feta chipotle cream goes beautifully with the SP and it’s a nice change from my usual homemade sour cream and chives. The chorizo, meanwhile adds a lovely kick and smells so delicious while it fries that you’d want to eat all of it by itself – but you should definitely wait, it is so worth it!

The original recipe calls for pickled jalapeños and sour cream, but I added my own twist by using crème fraiche instead of sour cream and chipotle paste instead of the jalapeños. I absolutely LOVE chipotle paste and I happened to have some left over 😉 thought I’d be clever in using up my ingredients.

I’ve already planned all of my meals for the week but I’m pretty sure I’m going to end up having this every day for the next few days. Because mm mm mmm was this delicious.

IMG_3815

Serves 2

Ingredients:

2 sweet potatoes, washed

60ml crème fraiche

30g feta cheese, crumbled

1 tbsp freshly chopped coriander

1/2 tsp chipotle paste

100g chorizo, cut into thin slices

Watercress or baby spinach leaves to serve

1. Preheat oven to 200° Celsius.

2. After having washed the sweet potatoes, dry them and pierce on all sides with a fork. Place on a baking tray in the oven for approximately 40 minutes.

3. While the sweet potatoes are baking, mix together crème fraiche and feta, making as smooth a mixture as you can – if possible, use a blender. Then, add coriander and chipotle paste and set aside.

4. In a dry frying pan, fry the chorizo until crisp.

5. When the potatoes are tender, place on a plate and split in half. Divide the feta chipotle cream between both, then sprinkle on the chorizo slices. Serve with fresh salad leaves (I used a mixture of watercress, rocket and spinach).

6. Enjoy!

One thought on “Baked sweet potato with feta chipotle cream and chorizo

Leave a Reply

